Home > IDRC > Funding > Who Can Apply > IDRC Research Awards
Who Can Apply
IDRC Research Awards 

Application criteria

Note that all applications must be sent online.

IDRC offers research awards on an annual basis to candidates pursuing master’s or doctoral studies at a recognized university, or to those who have recently completed a master’s or doctoral program at a recognized university, whose research corresponds to IDRC’s research priorities.

Research award recipients will undertake a one-year paid program of research about the subject highlighted in their application. Award recipients will be mentored by a program officer, and will spend approximately 50% of their time gaining hands-on experience in research management in their chosen program.

The IDRC Research Awards focus on research carried out in one or more developing countries. Exceptions are detailed below. The majority of award positions are based at IDRC’s head office in Ottawa, Canada for a duration of 12 months; however, some positions may be based at an IDRC regional office (Cairo, Egypt; New Delhi, India; Montevideo, Uruguay; or Nairobi, Kenya). Candidates must conduct their research in areas corresponding to IDRC's research priorities.

Research country exceptions 

In principle, IDRC supports research in all developing countries. At this time, however, IDRC does not offer awards for research  in the following countries: Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Eritrea, Gaza, Iran, Iraq, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Libya, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Yemen. Research programs in Southeastern Europe, Eastern Europe, or Central Asia are also ineligible.

Prior to issuing the award and contract, field research proposed in the following countries or territories must be approved by IDRC: 

Burkina Faso, Congo Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Maldives, Mauritania, Montserrat, Papua New Guinea, Small Island States (including Comoros, Mauritius, São Tomé and Principe, Seychelles, and Timor-Leste), and Oceania (Cook Islands, Fiji, Nauru, Kiribati, Palau, Marshall Islands, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tuvalu, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Wallis & Futuna), Suriname, Tunisia, West Bank, and Zimbabwe.
Who can apply?
Applicants must meet the eligibility requirements outlined in the call for applications announced on the grants page in June. Application deadlines are typically in August or September.
Please note that the eligibility criteria may vary from year to year.

Award recipients

See the names and research topics of our recent Research Award recipients.

Insider's View

Read what a group of former Research Award recipients have to say about their experiences at IDRC.

IDRC Research Awards
Knowledge, innovation, and solutions to improve the lives of people in the developing world
Bookmark and Share
Flickr YouTube Facebook Twitter